Turkey refuses to recognize Russia’s annexation of occupied parts of Ukraine amid war

Ankara will not recognize the decision of the people’s republics of Donetsk and Luhansk, as well as the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions to join the Russian Federation, the Turkish Foreign Ministry said in a September 30 statement. According to Turkey, the decision taken by the two Donbass republics “constitutes a serious violation of the established principles of international law”.

Turkey further reiterated that the government did not support Russia’s 2014 invasion of Crimea, nor recognize Russia’s subsequent annexation of Crimea in an “illegitimate referendum”.

Ankara underlines its strong support for the territorial integrity of Ukraine

In addition, Ankara underlined its strong support for Ukraine’s independence, territorial integrity and sovereignty in line with the position taken by Turkey in 2014, the press release said. Ankara also raised concerns about the raging war between Russia and Ukraine, reiterating the idea of ​​reaching a peaceful conclusion to the war through negotiations.

“In accordance with this position adopted in 2014, we reject Russia’s decision to annex the Ukrainian regions of Donetsk, Luhansk, Herson (Kherson) and Zaphorizhia (Zaporizhzhia). This decision, which constitutes a serious violation of the established principles of international law, cannot be accepted. We reiterate our support for the resolution of this war, the gravity of which continues to grow, on the basis of a just peace which will be achieved through negotiations,” the press release read.

Putin signs treaties on joining four Ukrainian regions

Referendums in Donetsk People’s Republic, Luhansk People’s Republic, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson were held from September 23-27. Often called a “sham” and a “farce” by NATO as well as the EU, the referendums, according to Russian officials, lead the majority of voters to embrace Russia.

Subsequently, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced on Friday that the heads of the four regions had signed treaties on their joining Russia.

According to a statement from the Russian President’s website, a ceremony for the signing of treaties on the accession of Ukrainian regions to the Russian Federation was held on Friday in the St. George Hall of the Grand Kremlin Palace. The statement further stated that “the people have made their unequivocal choice” to join the Russian Federation.

Previous Jobs for B-School Graduates and Wage Rise in Latest GMAC Survey
Next PH government cuts P1T borrowing