Ohio Auto Insurance Laws | The bank rate


In 2020, Ohio law enforcement reported 9,352 distracted driving offenses, charged 25,624 impaired driving (OVI) drivers, and investigated 54,662 crashes. There were more than 1,200 deaths on Ohio roads in 2020 according to data from the Ohio State Highway Patrol.

All Ohio drivers are legally required to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance. It is important to have insurance because it ensures the safety of drivers and protects them against common liabilities. Keep reading to learn more about Ohio auto insurance laws.

Auto Insurance Laws in Ohio

Ohio auto insurance laws are pretty standard. But whether you are a current Ohio driver or preparing to relocate to the state, understanding auto insurance laws is beneficial. Here are the notables Ohio Insurance Laws:

  • Driving without insurance is illegal. Driving without insurance is illegal in the state of Ohio and getting caught doing so can have serious consequences.
  • Drivers must purchase minimum coverage insurance. All Ohio drivers must meet the state’s minimum insurance requirement, which is 25/50/25. Driving with coverage below the state minimum is illegal and may result in license suspension.
  • It is illegal to lend your car to someone who is uninsured. In Ohio, you can’t let a friend or family member borrow your vehicle if it’s uninsured. Every driver must have some type of insurance or proof of financial responsibility in order to operate a vehicle, even if they do not own a car themselves.
  • Drivers must carry proof of insurance at all times. Ohio drivers are legally required to be able to produce proof of insurance whenever requested, which means they must always have that proof in their vehicle. Drivers are required to present proof of insurance at the request of law enforcement during a traffic check, at the scene of an accident and before a traffic court.

Liability Insurance in Ohio

Liability insurance is required by law in the state of Ohio. Ohio auto insurance requirements are shortened to 25/50/25, which includes the following:

  • $ 25,000 in liability insurance for bodily injury per person
  • $ 50,000 liability coverage for bodily injury per accident
  • $ 25,000 liability coverage for accidental property damage

Drivers who purchase minimum coverage auto insurance in Ohio will pay the lower premium. However, opting for liability coverage is not a recommended strategy for getting cheap insurance. Car accidents can be costly and there is no guarantee that the minimum coverage insurance will cover the full cost of an accident.

For example, imagine you cause an accident and the other driver is rushed to hospital with multiple injuries. The minimum coverage insurance would only cover $ 25,000 in medical and legal fees. If the other driver ended up with $ 70,000 in medical bills, you would be responsible for paying the remaining $ 45,000 out of pocket.

Ohio drivers should also consider that minimum coverage insurance does not include any coverage for their vehicle. Using the example above, if your vehicle suffered damage worth $ 10,000 in the accident, you would be responsible for the cost of the repairs in full.

Is Ohio a Flawless State?

No, Ohio is not a flawless state. Ohio is considered a state of fault, also called a tort state. While no-fault states mean that a driver’s insurance company pays their costs and expenses regardless of who caused the accident, a at-fault state (like Ohio) means that the insurance company of the responsible driver pays these costs.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Ohio

The penalties for driving without minimum auto insurance in Ohio are severe. Any driver taken without insurance will be automatically see your suspended license. Here are the consequences of driving without insurance in Ohio:

  • First offense: The driver’s license will be suspended until they can show proof of insurance. The driver must pay a reinstatement fee of $ 100 to get their license back.
  • Second offense: The driver’s license will be suspended for one year and they will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $ 300 to get their license back.
  • Third offense and beyond: The driver’s license will be suspended for two years and they will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $ 600 to get their license back.

Drivers who fail to surrender their driver’s license must pay a $ 50 fee. Additionally, all drivers caught driving without insurance are required to purchase an SR-22 certificate that will remain on file for three or five years, depending on the offense.

Additional Auto Insurance Coverage Options in Ohio

Most Ohio drivers choose to purchase coverage in excess of the state’s minimum requirements for additional protection. Here are some additional auto insurance coverage options available in Ohio:

  • Collision insurance: Collision insurance pays to repair damage to the vehicle after a covered accident. This policy also covers accidents with fixed objects. In Ohio, the average cost of collision insurance is about $ 297 per year for full coverage.
  • Back to back insurance : Comprehensive insurance pays to repair damage to the vehicle resulting from non-accidental situations, such as falling objects, fire or theft. In Ohio, the average cost of comprehensive insurance is about $ 128 per year.
  • Gap insurance: Gap insurance is an advantageous cover for drivers who lease or finance their vehicles. If your car is totaled after a covered accident, the gap insurance will pay the difference between the value of the car and the remaining balance on your loan.
  • Roadside assistance: Roadside Assistance is a popular supplemental coverage that provides basic car repairs, towing, extrication, fuel delivery, lockout services, battery replacement and more. This coverage is available from most insurance companies.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best auto insurance company in Ohio?

The best auto insurance company in Ohio varies because it is different for each driver. Every driver has unique auto insurance needs and preferences. Ohio drivers should compare providers before choosing an insurance company.

What is the cheapest car insurance in Ohio?

Ohio drivers have several options when it comes to affordable auto insurance. The Cheapest Auto Insurance Companies in Ohio are Geico, Erie and Auto-owners. However, auto insurance rates are personalized. Insurance companies use factors such as zip code, age, credit score, and claim history to determine how much a driver will pay.

How much does auto insurance cost in Ohio?

Auto insurance in Ohio is cheaper than the national average. In Ohio, the medium full coverage policy costs $ 1,119 per year and the average minimum coverage policy costs $ 321 per year. By comparison, the average full coverage insurance policy in the United States costs $ 1,738 per year.

Previous 6 Steelers whose cap savings outweigh their dead money if released
Next Purdue Pharma owners increase settlement offer to $ 4.28 billion

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.