New Hampshire is unique in that it is the only state in the United States that does not require a minimum amount of automobile liability insurance. If you are stopped by a police officer and cannot provide proof of insurance, you will not be fined or penalized (except in a few cases which we will explain below).
Although insurance is not compulsory, it is never a good idea to drive without auto insurance. Even in New Hampshire, if you are involved in a at-fault accident, you are responsible for all costs involved in the accident, whether it’s medical bills or property damage. Without car insurance, you could face thousands of dollars in out-of-pocket expenses.
New Hampshire auto insurance is inexpensive compared to national averages. A minimum liability policy in New Hampshire costs an average of $ 321 annually, compared to the national average of $ 563; while a New Hampshire full coverage policy is $ 1,099, compared to the national rate of $ 1,738.
Auto Insurance Laws in New Hampshire
While not required by law, New Hampshire’s minimum auto insurance recommendations are 25/50/25. What this means is as follows:
- Civil liability of $ 25,000 for bodily injury: This is the amount your insurance company will pay for injuries sustained by a single person in a at-fault accident.
- $ 50,000 total bodily injury per accident: If more than one person is injured in an accident, this is the total your insurer will pay for all injuries in a single accident.
- $ 25,000 in property damage: This coverage covers damage to the other driver’s car or to any property you strike, such as a fence or light pole.
- Medical payments of $ 1,000: It would go to your injuries, or those of your passengers, in an accident.
There are a few categories of drivers who must purchase insurance in New Hampshire. These include those who have been convicted of a DUI, those who have been convicted of driving offenses such as leaving the scene of an accident, and those who were at fault for a previous accident while ‘they had no insurance.
Liability Insurance in New Hampshire
The absence of laws regarding New Hampshire auto insurance requirements does not exempt you from liability if you are involved in an accident. Anyone who drives should take out an auto insurance policy to protect themselves from the financial consequences of an accident.
The minimums suggested by New Hampshire may not be sufficient if you cause an accident with serious injury or damage. Healthcare in New Hampshire can be expensive, and an accident resulting in a hospital stay, surgery, or extensive rehabilitation would quickly use up the minimum 25/50 liability coverage.
Likewise, $ 25,000 for property damage would not be enough if you were involved in an accident totaling a newer car, SUV or truck. The average cost of a new car in the United States is over $ 36,000, so if you had the suggested minimum PD coverage and totaled a new car in a at-fault accident, you could still face tens of thousands of dollars in out-of-pocket expenses.
Also note that New Hampshire’s minimum auto insurance is for third party liability, which is designed to protect the other driver, their car, and their passengers. In order to be protected yourself, you should consider additional coverage options that will cover your own injury or damage.
Is New Hampshire a Flawless State?
New Hampshire is not one of the 12 faultless states in the United States In these states, you file your insurance claim with your own company, no matter who is at fault, and you are limited in your ability to bring legal action against the other party in the event of accident.
No-fault states also require the purchase of Injury Protection Coverage (PIP), which covers your injuries in the event of an accident. Because New Hampshire does not follow this format, PIP coverage is not available and you can sue another driver if necessary and file a claim for your pain and suffering, as well as medical expenses.
Penalties for driving without insurance in New Hampshire
Since New Hampshire’s insurance laws do not require you to purchase auto insurance, you cannot be penalized if you are involved in a traffic stop and the police ask for proof of insurance. If you are in any of the categories of drivers we have mentioned above, however, such as those who have been convicted of impaired driving, you must have proof of insurance with you whenever you are. driving. If so, you risk fines, license suspension and the requirement to file a SR-22 Insurance Certificate.
Additional Auto Insurance Coverage Options in New Hampshire
In addition to liability and medpay, drivers in New Hampshire have access to a number of types of optional insurance that provide stronger coverage and give them additional financial protection in the event of an accident. Some of these optional covers include:
- Collision: This covers damage to your vehicle in the event of an accident. This may be necessary if you are leasing your car or have a loan, and there is usually a deductible of $ 250 to $ 2,000.
- Full: This type of insurance covers incidents unrelated to an accident, such as theft, vandalism or weather damage. It also has a franchise.
- Uninsured / underinsured motorist: Roughly 10% of New Hampshire drivers do not purchase auto insurance. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, this type of coverage will help pay for your care and damages if they are unable to do so. It would also come into play if the other driver’s insurance is not sufficient to cover all the bills associated with an accident.
- Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled, you will receive a check for the depreciated value of the vehicle from your insurer. However, if you owe more than that amount on a car loan, this coverage will pay the difference.
- New car replacement: If your new car (less than two years old) is totaled, this coverage will allow you to purchase a new car of the same make and model, rather than just getting a check for its depreciated value.
- Rent reimbursement: If your car is repaired after an accident, this coverage will cover a rental car.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company in New Hampshire?
There are a number of national and regional insurers that establish strong policies in New Hampshire. To find the the best for you, consider price, customer service and the range of coverage options available.
What is the cheapest auto insurance in New Hampshire?
There isn’t one auto insurance company that is always the cheapest for everyone. There are many factors that go into determining your premium, from the age and model of your car to your credit rating and even your marital status. However, you can start your search with our list of companies that write the cheapest fonts in 2021.
Why should I get auto insurance if it’s not mandatory in New Hampshire?
Simply put, unless your financial situation allows you to shell out several thousand dollars for a serious accident, you should have auto insurance. Even though it is not required by law, you are still responsible for the costs that arise as a result of a at-fault accident.