Drivers in the state of Nevada are required to purchase a minimum amount of liability insurance to legally drive. The legal minimum is 25/50/20, but it is possible (and in many cases desirable) to buy more than the minimum to get the best auto insurance in Nevada.
You are also required to have proof of your insurance with you at all times while driving. Proof of this insurance can be either your insurance card, which you receive when you purchase a policy, or electronic proof on your mobile phone. If a police officer stops you, they will likely ask you to see your proof of insurance.
Auto Insurance Laws in Nevada
Nevada’s auto insurance laws are similar to the laws of many other states. They cover civil liability, that is, the insurance that pays for damage and injury caused to the other driver, his passengers and his car in the event of a responsible accident. Legally, you will need at least the following liability cover, which is often written 25/50/20:
- Civil liability of $ 25,000 for bodily injury: If you cause an accident, your insurer will pay up to $ 25,000 for injuries to a single person.
- $ 50,000 in total: If more than one person is injured, your insurer will pay up to $ 50,000 for all injuries.
- Property damage civil liability (PD) of $ 20,000: This type of liability will cover damage to the other driver’s car, as well as any other property damage, for example, if you hit a fence or light pole.
Nevada is not the cheapest state for auto insurance. The state average for minimum coverage is $ 709, which is higher than the national average of $ 563. Comprehensive coverage, which includes collisions and comprehensive care, is $ 2,058, while the national average is $ 1,738.
Liability insurance in Nevada
Nevada’s minimum auto insurance is only tied to responsibility – in other words, Nevada’s insurance laws protect the other driver and their passengers if you cause an accident. To protect yourself financially, you may want to consider additional coverage.
It’s also a good idea to buy more than the minimum required if you can. Consider, for example, the ramifications if you run a red light and cause an accident that injures several people and totals the other driver’s car.
Medical care in Nevada doesn’t come cheap, especially if surgery or rehabilitative care is needed. The minimum BI coverage of $ 25,000 wouldn’t last very long in this case, and you could end up with significant out-of-pocket expenses.
The $ 20,000 property damage coverage is also quite low. If the car you total is a newer luxury SUV, truck, or sedan, chances are it would be worth over $ 20,000. If this is the limit on your coverage, you would be personally responsible for any payment greater than this amount.
Is Nevada a Flawless State?
Nevada is not one of the 12 states considered without fail. In a no-fault condition, you file claims with your own insurance company, regardless of who is at fault for an accident. No-fault laws also limit the type of lawsuits that can be brought against any driver following an accident.
In a no-fault condition, you are required to purchase Personal Injury Protection Insurance (PIP), which would cover you and your passengers for injuries resulting from an accident. Since this is not a fault-free state, this coverage is not available in Nevada. You can, however, purchase medical payment coverage (medpay), which is similar.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Nevada
Nevada’s insurance laws include complex penalties for those who drive without insurance. Fees and other penalties vary depending on whether it is your first, second, or third offense.
To sum up, the reinstatement fee you will need to pay ranges from $ 251 to $ 751. There will also be a fine for everyone except for the first offense which is $ 250 to $ 1,000. You may be required to wear a SR-22 as proof of insurance and if this is your third violation within five years, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days.
Additional Auto Insurance Coverage Options in Nevada
Nevada’s auto insurance requirements might not be sufficient to cover you in the event of a serious accident, and they do not cover injuries sustained by you or your passengers, but only the other driver, the passengers and the driver. vehicle. There are optional types of insurance you can purchase to give you stronger and more comprehensive coverage, including the following:
- Collision: Collision covers your own vehicle in the event of an accident, as well as any objects you hit. It may be required if you are leasing your car, and it includes a deductible.
- Full: Usually grouped together with collision, this type of coverage is for non-accidental accidents, such as theft, vandalism, or weather situations (for example, if a tree falls on your car during a windstorm). Like collision, full may be required by lenders and has a deductible.
- Uninsured / underinsured motorist: More … than 10% of Nevada drivers are on the road illegally without insurance. If you are involved in an accident with one, this coverage will cover your injuries and more. It can also intervene if the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover all the damages and injuries.
- Medical payments (medpay): This coverage will help you pay for your medical expenses and those of anyone in your car following an accident.
- Rent reimbursement: This optional coverage will pay for a loan if your car is repaired as a result of an accident.
- Gap insurance: If your car is totaled, you will receive a check from your insurer for the depreciated value of the car. If you owe more than that on a car loan, this coverage will pay the difference.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company in Nevada?
There are a number of insurers that write strong policies for Nevada drivers. To find the best auto insurance company for your own needs, you’ll want to do some research online and get several quotes. A good place to start your research is with Bankrate’s Best Nevada Auto Insurance Companies 2021 SEO.
What is the cheapest auto insurance in Nevada?
There isn’t a single insurer who always has the cheapest rates. Your premium is determined by a variety of factors including the age and model of your car, your credit rating, and even your marital status, and your price offer will be unique based on your circumstances. A good place to start looking is with our Cheap Auto Insurance Companies of 2021 SEO.
Is Nevada’s Minimum Auto Insurance Enough For Me?
Maybe not, especially if you are in a serious accident. The 25/50/20 minimum is a good place to start, but costs could easily exceed these amounts in the event of significant injury or property damage. If you can afford more coverage, such as 100/300/50, it’s a good idea to buy it.